Breakfast · Recipes

Grandmother’s masher and strawberry jam

I’ve got a lot of kitchen gadgets.  I get pretty excited when I find a recipe that REQUIRES a special tool that I don’t already have.  I don’t care if I only use it once a year.  I’ve gotta have it.  I like purses too, and shoes…but they come with some guilt, unlike the kitchen tools.  I’m sure it’s because I tell myself the kitchen gadgets are really for everyone I cook for, the end result always is anyway!  The shoes and purses are just for me.

My favorite gadget by far is something my Dad gave me.  It’s my Grandmother’s masher.  It makes me smile every time I use it.  It’s old, the paint is coming off, and it didn’t come from Williams-Sonoma.  It’s just extra special because it was my Grandmother’s.  She was an amazing cook.  I’m hoping some of her special cooking love rubs off on me.

I invited some friends over for brunch last weekend.  I pulled the blintzes out of the freezer, the ones I traded Veronica for scones.  Veronica told me Joey likes the blintzes best served with homemade strawberry jam.  I just happened have picked up some beautiful fresh strawberries at the new Grower’s Direct up the street, so I made some jam.  It turned out pretty good!

Strawberry Jam

  • 2 pounds fresh strawberries, hulled
  • 2 cups sugar
  • juice of a lemon

In a heavy bottom medium pot, combine strawberries, sugar and lemon juice.  Using a potato masher, crush and mix fruit with sugar.

Bring mixture to a boil, and cook, skimming foam and stirring frequently for 10 minutes.  Lower heat to maintain a gentle boil and continue to cook for another 20 minutes.    Remove pot from heat and let cool to room temperature.  If jam is too runny, return pot to heat and continue to cook.

It’s a gorgeous day.  Miss Molly is enjoying a little sunshine and the cool grass.