Chocolate · Dessert · Recipes

week day brownies

These brownies are delicious, and the best part…they’re from Cooking Light!  I actually found the recipe for these on another blog.  They made them look so good.  I never would have made them otherwise.  The picture on Cooking Light, well, not so pretty.  My picture looks a little goofy too, but you get the idea.  The middle brownie on the top row is extra light, I didn’t eat that one.  I like the one on the lower right better…

I call them week day brownies because we’re trying to eat lighter Monday through Friday.  But the weekend comes and  it’s a free for all.  We’re losing weight, but just think how much more we could lose if we actually made light and healthy choices all week long.  We lose weight during the week, and then celebrate our weight loss on the weekend, with not so healthy choices.  It sounds really lame as I write it.  Okay, better choices all week long…

I think these were actually better than the fattening ones I made for my seven beautiful Valentines. I loved the Baileys addition.  I also loved that they were fudgey without being too dense.

I made these for my Valentines day Valentines, Melissa and Sunshine.  We ate brownies and watched the Bachelor.  I’m stoked Brad finally got rid of crazy Michelle.  But now that she’s gone, I’m going to miss her crazyiness.

Irish Cream Brownies

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/3 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup Baileys Irish Cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup sugar

Preaheat oven to 350°.  Sift the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda together.  Set aside.

In a small saucepan set over low heat, melt the chocolate and butter.  Stir to combine.  Remove from heat.

Whisk eggs, vanilla and Baileys in a separate bowl.

Add 1/4 cup of the chocolate mixture to the egg mixture to temper, whisk to combine.  Add the egg mixture to the chocolate along with the sugar.  Stir over low heat 2-3 minutes or until sugar dissolves a bit.

Fold the chocolate mixture into the dry ingredients, stirring until just combined.

Pour batter into a 8×8″ square pan lined with parchment paper.  Bake for 18-20 minutes.

Cool, dust with powdered sugar.  Serve with a dollop of whipped cream and fresh berries.

 
Leave a Reply

