Appetizers and Snacks · Healthy · Recipes

grilled vegetable bruschetta

Melissa’a birthday, time for another party!  I wanted to make her something special for dinner that would be delicious, but not rediculously fattening at the same time.  I don’t know why I think a special dinner should be loaded with fat.  I feel like I need to sneak the good-for-you stuff in.  Fat does not equal love.

I decided on the vegetable bruschetta to start.  I did have a nice spread of  Cowgirl Creamery cheeses too, thanks Chik.  For dinner we had filet mignon topped with a sliver of an insanely delicious blue cheese, and served with a reduced demi-glace (I added a touch of flour to thicken).  I served that with a cauliflower and potato puree.  The vegetables for the bruschetta doubled as a side dish for our dinner.  You’ll have to check out my next post for dessert.

Grilled Vegetable Bruschetta

  • Onion
  • Zucchini
  • Asparagus
  • Fennel Bulb
  • Carrots
  • Red, Yellow and Orange Bell Peppers
  • Olive Oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Basil, chiffonade
  • Baguette

Grill any combination of vegetables seasoned with salt, and pepper, drizzle with olive oil.  Let the grilled vegetables cool, chop to fine dice.  Toss with a little more olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper to taste.  Add the basil.  Sometimes I add a little crumbled goat cheese or a snow flurry of parmesan cheese on top.  Warm up the baguette and slice.

Here she is!  Happy birthday Melissa!

Sooo…..I’ve got a pizza stone for the grill that I haven’t used in a while.  It’s just waiting for a new home.  Who wants it?

One thought on “grilled vegetable bruschetta

Leave a Reply

