Recipes · Salad · Vegetarian

my new favorite salad

I’m in love with fuyu persimmons!  I’ve been getting them in my CSA box but wasn’t sure what to do with them.  I’ve been scouring the internet for recipes.  Then I asked my sister.  She told me “just eat them”.  WHAT????  It’s really that simple?   No recipe needed, just take a bite.  Okay, so…I decided to peel and slice them into wedges and put them on a platter with prosciutto.  My friends loved it.  And now the salad…my new favorite.

Persimmon and Arugula Salad

  • Baby arugula
  • Pomegranate seeds
  • Fuyu persimmons, peeled, and cut into wedges
  • Goat cheese, crumbled

Dressing

  • 2 parts Olive oil
  • 1 part Balsamic vinegar
  • spoonful of Dijon mustard
  • a little bit of dried thyme, crushed by hand
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Combine salad ingredients in a large bowl.  Combine dressing ingredients in a small bowl.  Dress the salad!

Turley is the worst.  What’s wrong with all those chew toys you have?

Persimmon on Foodista

5 thoughts on “my new favorite salad

  1. The salad looks good.I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this Persimmon widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about persimmons. Oh and I love that photo of turley!Really adorable 🙂

  2. Thanks for adding the widget Marge. We used to have a dog like Turley when I was young.She was always gnawing on my moms sandals and even when we tried to hide it, she always knew where it was and barked like crazy.Seeing this photo brought back a lot of fond memories of her 🙂

Leave a Reply

