Healthy · Main Dish · Recipes

almost instant dinner

I had a rude awakening this morning.  I stepped on the dreaded scale at the gym.  I figured it was time to face the music (or did my trainer make me?).  It’s time to get back on the healthy band wagon.  So,  here you go.

I love this almost instant dinner.   I found the recipe on Epicurious last year, and have made it several times.  I’m usually not a fan of bottled salad dressings, but Galeo’s World’s Best Miso Toasted Sesame Seed Dressing is really pretty good.  Of course you can serve this dinner with some jasmine rice, but the scale told me no.  Here is my simplified version of a simple recipe to begin with.  So easy, even a cave man can do it, right?  Sorry cave man, no offense.

Hoisin Pork Tenderloin with Broccoli Slaw

  • 1/3 cup hoisin sauce
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • pepper to taste
  • 1 pork tenderloin, trimmed of fat and silver skin
  • 1-12 ounce package of broccoli slaw
  • Galeo’s World Best Miso Toasted Sesame Seed Dressing (it’s low fat!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place a rack in a baking pan.  Add water to reach depth of 1/4″.  Combine hoisin and soy sauce.

Brush pork tenderloin with the hoisin mixture.  Season generously with pepper.  Place pork on rack, and drizzle with additional sauce.  Roast pork for 25 minutes.

Let rest for 10 minutes before slicing.  While pork is resting, combine broccoli slaw and dressing.

Greg Schroeder of Amazing Grapes Wine Store

Greg says:

With Asian food, in particular the Hoison spice, the wine that pairs extremely well is a Spatlese Riesling. Spatlese Rieslings are a bit sweeter than the everyday Kabinett’s, but not too sweet. They typically have very good acidity and are low in alcohol, making them the perfect pairing with spicy foods.

I’ve selected for you our St. Urbans-Hof 2009 Ockfener Bockstein Riesling Spatlese. We’re not talking a dessert wine here. There is just enough sweetness to complement this dish perfectly. The minerality in this wine is almost sparkling while the acidity is ripe but still crisp and the flavors are complex, ripe and well developed.

 

Paigey is trying to steal my snuggy that I stole fair and square from Sunshine, who stole it fair and square from Veronica.

