Main Dish · Pasta · Recipes · Vegetarian

Vegetable Bolognese

I love porcini mushrooms, and they are the star of this vegetable bolognese.  I bought my dried porcinis in San Francisco at the Ferry Building.  I used the last of them for this dish.  Now I’ll have to go back for more.  The recipe from  Giada De Laurentiis is awesome.  I added a lot more porcini than was called for.  I didn’t have tomato paste, so I replaced it with pureed sundried tomatoes.  I also added more wine.  Here is the recipe with the original quantities.

Vegetable Bolognese

  • 1 ounce dried porcini mushrooms
  • 1 1/2 cups hot water
  • 3 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 onion, peeled and chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 teaspoon fresh oregano, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 5 ounces mushrooms, stemmed and chopped
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 1/2 cup mascarpone cheese

Rehydrate mushrooms in hot water until softened.

Place vegetables in a food processor and pulse until finely chopped.

Add mushrooms and pulse to combine.

Heat olive oil in a large pan.  Saute vegetables along with thyme and oregano for 6 minutes.

Add tomato paste and wine, and continue to cook for 1o minutes.  Add mascarpone cheese and serve over pasta.

2 thoughts on “Vegetable Bolognese

  1. I’ve bought dried porcini mushrooms at Bristol Farms. They may have them at Henry’s, or Seaside Market. I know Trader Joe’s has a mixture of dried mushrooms if you can’t find the porcini mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

